Earth Fest 2008

Come join us for more than a week of Earth-friendly activities as we celebrate Earth Day in style!

Contacts: Robin Barker, robin_barker@ecats.gcsu.edu, 706-340-5907

Kelley Smith, kes7290@yahoo.com

Doug Oetter, doug.oetter@gcsu.edu, 478-445-7379

 

 

Tues, April 15

“Kiwanis One Day" Trash Cleanup

Highway 441 (N. Columbia St.) at mile marker 21, Tuesday April 15th, 9 to11 am. 

This event is part of the Great American Clean-up.  

Contact: Allison Hughes, allison_hughes@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

 

Wednesday, April 16

Environmental Movie Night: Syriana

A&S 275, Wednesday April 16th, 8-10 pm.

Contact: Christin Ivey, christin_ivey@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

 

Thursday, April 17

Georgia Green: Eco-Artists of the Peach State

GCSU Museum

Opening Reception, Thursday, April 17th, 5:30-7:30 pm; Curator’s Lecture at 6:30 pm.

Interdisciplinary visual arts exhibition focuses on contemporary artists living in the State of Georgia for whom ecological responsibility and environmental awareness play a significant role in their artworks and their lives.

Contact: Shannon Morris, shannon.morris@gcsu.edu, 478-445-8274

 

 

Friday, April 18

Environmental Education Table

GCSU Fountain, Friday April 18th, 11 am to 3 pm.

Contact: Justin Morgan, justin_morgan@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

Georgia Green: Eco-Artists of the Peach State

GCSU Museum

Exhibition tour, Friday, April 18th, 3 pm.

Contact: Shannon Morris, shannon.morris@gcsu.edu, 478-445-8274

 

 

Saturday, April 19 

Earth Day Festival!!!

GCSU Front Campus, Saturday, April 19th, 11 am to 8 pm

Music, activities, education, food, crafts, and more!!

Contact: Robin Barker, robin_barker@ecats.gcsu.edu, 706-340-5907

 

Recycled Art Exhibit

Blackbird Coffee, Opens Saturday April 19th.

Contact: Michael Hague,  michael_hague@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

Environmental Movie: Planet Earth Marathon

GCSU Front Campus, Saturday April 19th from 8 pm to Sunday, April 20th, 4 am.

The complete BBC Planet Earth Series will be projected in an open-air environment.

Contact: Faira Holliday, margaret_holliday@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

 

Sunday, April 20

Nature Hike & Bike Ride

Bartram Forest North Entrance, Sunday April 20th, 3 pm.

Bring your bike or your hiking shoes out for a nature experience.

Contacts: Paul Haskell, paul_haskell@ecats.gcsu.edu

Liz Havey,  liz.havey@gcsu.edu, 478-445-1396

 

 

Monday, April 21

Georgia Green: Eco-Artists of the Peach State

GCSU Museum

Exhibition tour, Monday, April 21st, 12 pm.

Brown Bag Lunch and School Outreach with Creekside Elementary 2nd and 5th graders.

Contact: Shannon Morris, shannon.morris@gcsu.edu, 478-445-8274

 

GCSU Campus Recycling Panel Discussion

GCSU Museum, Education Room, Monday April 21st, 5 to 6:30 pm.

Panel discussion on campus and community recycling efforts.

Contact: Zack Gilbert, zachary_gilbert@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

 

Tuesday, April 22 – EARTH DAY!!!!

Environmental Education Table

GCSU Fountain, Friday April 18th, 11 am to 3 pm.

Contact: Rachel Hodge, rachel_hodge@ecats.gcsu.edu

 

GCSU Green Initiative Brown Bag Lunch

MSU Dining Hall, Bobcat Room, Tuesday April 22nd, 12 to 1:30 pm

Bring your own or eat in at Sodexho Cafeteria

Contact: Doug Oetter, doug.oetter@gcsu.edu, 478-445-7379

 

 

Wednesday, April 23

Recycling Drive

GCSU Front Campus, Wednesday April 23rd, 10 am to 4 pm.

Bring your recyclables to front campus!!!

Contact: Kelley Smith, kes7290@yahoo.com

 

Environmental Movie Night: Cosmic Voyage

Blackbird Coffee, Wednesday April 23rd, 8-10 pm.

Contact: Rachel Duckworth,  <ducky_fly@hotmail.com

 

 

Thursday, April 24

POWERride!! 

GCSU Front Campus Bobcat, Thursday April 24th, 5 pm.

Group bicycle ride promoting alternative transportation.

Contact: Blain Foley,  joseph_foley@ecats.gcsu.edu